

## disappearance

Executive production by Joseph Smalkowski

Released on July 21, 2009

no chart information

Find it at GEMM

NCD 2091 cover [high resolution scan]

sychedelic nihilism, save for the lonely quark gluon plasma, the original intermediary matter between nothingness and somethingness. Copernicus is a prophet/poet, a quasi-musical anti-mentalist who reduces everything to atomic theory. Since that may not conjur much of a mental image, think of Jim (Christopher Lloyd) from "Taxi" fronting the Velvet Underground after some really bad acid. Actually, don't think of anything at all, since you don't really exist (according to Copernicus) and therefore probably have better things to (not) do. The foundation for this music is Beat poetry, Captain Beefheart and the bizarre psychedelic spelunkering from the 60s (VU, The Red Krayola, etc.). I won't kid you: this is jarring, bracing stuff that may just detach you from your current reality, so be sure to wear your theological gravity boots before disappearance swallows you into its black hole of alternate cosmology. The seven improvisational performances are inspired by a single vision; having made his life a work of art, art flows freely from the mind of Copernicus. The backing music leavens the intensity of the dense metaphysical matters that occupy his mind, alternating between free jazz ("Humanity created the illusion of itself.") and VU's gothic experimentalism ("12 subatomic particles"). When free jazz and gothic sounds are the light matter, you know you're going into a dark place. As an antidote to dull reality, disappearance is fascinating. Just don't look too deeply into it for life's answers. The concern for temporal things like punctuation exposes Copernicus to be more poet than prophet. This is a carnival ride of the mind; don't fear the dark shadows, just abandon yourself to their terrifying potentialities for 70 minutes, and you'll get your money's worth.

## TRACK LISTING

- 12 subatomic particles 9:52
- The Quark Gluon Plasma 7:42
- The Blind Zombies 8:54
- Humanity created the illusion of itself. 7:09
- Atomic New Orleans 5:30
- Poor Homo Sapiens 13:57
- REVOLUTION !! 21:05

All lyrics by Copernicus. All music created spontaneously and instantly by the musicians.

## CREDITS

COPERNICUS -- poetry, lead vocals, keyboards CESAR ARAGUNDI -- electric & acoutsic guitar

MARK BROTTER -- drums, percussion MIKE FAZIO -- electric guitar

MATTY FILLOU -- tenor saxophone, percussion

THOMAS HAMLIN -- drums, percussion BOB HOFFNAR -- steel guitar

LARRY KIRWAN -- electric guitar, vocals

FRED PARCELLS -- trombone

RAIMUNDO PENAFORTE -- viola, acoustic guitar, cavaquinho, percussion, vocals

GEORGE RUSH -- tuba, contrabass, bass guitar

ROB THOMAS -- violin

PIERCE TURNER -- musical director, Hammond B3 organ, acoustic piano, vocals, percussion

MARVIN WRIGHT -- bass guitar, electric guitar, percussion James Frazee -- recording & mixing engineer

Leonardo Pavkovic -- artwork design

Fernando Natalici -- photos

REGION	RELEASE DATE	LABEL	MEDIA	ID NUMBER	FEATURES
US	July 21, 2009	Nevermore/MoonJune	Œ	NCD-2091	



© 2009 Connolly & Company. All rights reserved.